Skills

Energy | Mergers & Acquisitions | Securities | Business Law

Bertrand EDOUARD BETSY

Barrister/Partner

Bertrand joined LEGIS and Partners in October 2017 after working as a manager and then partner at Lexel Juridique & Fiscal, the leading business law firm in Madagascar for 3 years. He has developed considerable expertise in business law in Madagascar, particularly in the negotiation and drafting of energy supply contracts, construction contracts (EPC type) and operating contracts (O&M). He advised the International Financial Corporation on the implementation of the scaling solar in Madagascar project;

Bertrand has also carried out a number of legal audits leading to the acquisition of stakes in companies or businesses operating in the mining, banking, pharmaceutical, manufacturing, hotel and agricultural sectors. He has also worked with international clients on a number of projects in Madagascar, including the construction of new airport and road infrastructure.

Bertrand previously worked for 3 years as head of legal affairs for a Mauritian conglomerate, where he was involved in drafting and negotiating franchise agreements, commercial leases and employment law issues.

In Mauritius, Bertrand is mainly involved in mergers and acquisitions, joint ventures and the setting up of guarantees and securities, and continues to advise entrepreneurs and companies wishing to set up in Madagascar or Africa on the structure best suited to their projects.

Education

  • Admitted to the Bar of Mauritius (2008)
  • Admitted to the Bar of England and Wales (2006)
  • Law degree, Cardiff University, Wales (2006)
  • Master’s degree in law(LLM) – World Trade Specialist, University of Buckingham, Angleterre (2004)
  • Law degree, University of Buckingham, Angleterre (2003)

Languages

  • French
  • English (read, spoken, written)

Bertrand EDOUARD BETSY

Avocat – Associé

Compétences 

Energie | Fusion-Acquisition | Suretés | Droit des affaires

Bertrand a rejoint LEGIS and Partners en octobre 2017 après avoir exercé comme manager puis associé au sein du cabinet Lexel Juridique & Fiscal, leader en droit des affaires à Madagascar pendant 3 ans. Il a développé une grande expertise du droit des affaires à Madagascar et en particulier dans la négociation et la rédaction de contrats de fourniture d’énergie, de contrats de construction (type EPC) et de contrats d’exploitations (O&M). Il a conseillé l’International Financial Corporation sur la mise en œuvre du projet scaling solar à Madagascar. 

Bertrand a également mené plusieurs missions d’audits juridiques aboutissant à des prises de participation ou acquisitions d’entreprises ou d’activités évoluant dans les secteurs minier, bancaire, pharmaceutique, manufacturier, hôtelier et agricole.  Il a aussi accompagné des clients internationaux dans de nombreux projets à Madagascar tels que la construction de nouvelles infrastructures aéroportuaires et routières.

Précédemment, Bertrand a travaillé pendant 3 ans comme responsable juridique d’un conglomérat mauricien où il intervenait dans la rédaction et négociation de contrats de franchise, de baux commerciaux, et sur des sujets relevant du droit social.

A Maurice, Bertrand intervient principalement dans des opérations de fusions-acquisitions, de joint-ventures, de mise en place de garanties et sûretés et continue à conseiller des entrepreneurs et sociétés souhaitant s’installer à Madagascar ou en Afrique sur la structure la mieux adaptée à leurs projets. 

Formation

  • Admission au Barreau de l’Ile Maurice (2008)
  • Inscription au Barreau de l’Angleterre et du Pays de Galles (2006)
  • Bar Vocational Course, Cardiff University, Pays de Galles (2006)
  • Master en droit (LLM) – World Trade Specialist, University of Buckingham, Angleterre (2004)
  • Licence en droit, University of Buckingham, Angleterre (2003)

Langues

  • Français (langue maternelle)
  • Anglais (lu, parlé, écrit)